I WAS ONCE LIKE YOU…

fullsizerender

My name is Mr. Vasquez. I’m a Valencia High School graduate and a Tiger, just like you.  I walked onto this campus in February 2004 as a Junior, not knowing a single person.  I wore my Avenged Sevenfold shirt on my first day, hoping some fellow metal-heads would notice…but no luck.  A few class periods went by, lunch was soon approaching, and I didn’t have anywhere to go or anyone to hang out with.  Just as the bell rang to go to lunch, a few students in my History class asked if I would like to eat lunch with them. What a relief.  Although I started spending lunch with my baseball teammates shortly afterwards, I was, and still am, extremely appreciative and grateful for the seemingly small act of kindness showed to me on my first day.
Since that day, Valencia has been home. We are one big family of almost three thousand people.  As students, you might not always get a long with each other, but try to remember that EVERYONE would like to look back on their time at VHS with positive and fond memories.  What may seem like a small, insignificant act of kindness to one person, may mean the world to another.  Seize opportunities to help each other out and pick someone up when they fall. Take care of one another and treat each other with kindness.  Valencia is your home and we are all family.
Once a Tiger, Always a Tiger.